The Top Ten best music bands in India

By February 21, 2019 Bands and Musicians No Comments

Parikrama : They are also called “Pink Floyd” of India. Delhi based rock and roll band. The band was officially formed on 17 June 1991 in Delhi.

Band members:

  • Sonam Sherpa  – Lead guitarist
  • Nitin Malik – Lead vocalist
  • Saurabh Choudhary – Guitarist
  • Subir Malik – Organist, Synthesizer
  • Gaurav Balani – Bass guitarist
  • Srijan Mahajan – Drummer
  • Mukul Jain – Lead Vocalist (Temporary Concerts)

Euphoria : Euphoria, put together by their lead singer Palash Sen, is known as the pioneer of Indian pop music. Euphoria was put together by Palash Sen and his friends in New Delhi in 1988. Their songs have always ruled the charts be it Vidya Balan starrer Mayeri or even their recent hits. Euphoria released their first studio album titled ‘Dhoom’ in the October 1998 to critical acclaim and commercial success.

Songs : Dhoom Pichak Dhoom, Sha Na Na, Maeri, Phir Dhoom, Raja Rani, Ab Naa Jaa, Aana Meri Gully, Sone De Maa, Soneya, Mehfuz, Bhoola Sab, Ram Ali, C U Later, Kabootar, Item, Sharnaagat, Prabhuji, Sheranwali Maa, mola mere mola, Halla Bol

Pentagram : Pentagram is a four piece Indian rock/electronica band started in 1994 in Mumbai, India. one of the main band who took indie rock scene in Indian to the main stream.

Pentagram started off in 1994, when Dadlani met drummer Shiraz Bhattacharya in a one show band called Nostalgia where Dadlani played the bass and handled vocal duties, Shekhar Ravjivani played keyboards. They decided to form their own band and roped in Clyde D’Souza as guitarist. Randolph Correia joined in on the guitars the following year and Papal Mane joined in as bassist while Dadlani focussed on Vocals.

Indian ocean :This is band who inspired generation of indie rock scene. Indian band best known for their album Black Friday. Indian rock band formed in New Delhi in 1990, who are widely recognized as the pioneers of the fusion rock genre in India.

In the early 1980s, Asheem Chakravarty played tabla for a Bengali band Niharika. In 1984, Susmit Sen, a fan of Niharika, met him during a concert. Chakravarty was impressed by Sen’s guitar-playing and his vision to evolve a new sound, while Sen, learned the nuances of rhythm from Chakravarty. They experimented with their music without writing original lyrics for the next 3 years, with Sen as the guitarist and Chakravarty on tabla and drums.

Underground Authority : The band is alternative rock and is noted for their socio-political messages / anti capitalism agenda in their song lyrics. This is formed in early 2010, in Kolkata, their music is flavoured by a blend of protest poetry, reggae, alternate, rap rock and hard rock.

  • Vocalist: Santhanam Srinivasan Iyer
  • Guitarist: Aren Longkumer
  • Bassist: Soumyadeep Bhattacharya
  • Drummer Sourish Kumar

Raghu Dixit Project : Raghu Dixit, and The Raghu Dixit Project, are best known for taking ancient Kannada poetry, and presenting it around the world with a contemporary, global sound.

Agnee : An Indian rock band based in Pune, Agnee is a unique confluence of individual styles of composing and performing its classic rock, pop and Indian influences and one of their singers Mohan with his Carnatic and Hindustani classical influences. They are famous for their songs like Sadho Re, Shaam Tanha.

Band members:

  • Kannan Mohan – Vocals
  • Kaustubh Dhavale – Guitars
  • Varun Venkit – Drums and Percussion
  • Chirayu Vedekar- Bass

The Local Train : An Indian Rock Band from Delhi. The band known for its active role in cultural festivals in Indian colleges, recorded its first music video “Aaoge Tum Kabhi” and created a sensation on social networking sites and received wide appreciation. Their work has bee appreciated by the sensational Raghu Dixit too.

Band members: 

  • Ramit Mehra – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Raman Negi – Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
  • Sahil Sarin – Drums, Percussion
  • Paras Thakur – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals

Undying Inc : Undying Inc are a lethal blend of speed, technique, groove and extreme aggression! Here is music that will make you want to chokehold the world you live in! Defined by relentless riffing intensity, sharp twists, massive breakdowns; rapid time signature changes and fluid gear shifting between poly-rhythms, Undying Inc’s music is a lesson in crushing modern metal combat! In its decade of destruction Undying Inc have 2 full length studio albums(Preface To Erase 2005, Aggressive World Dynasty 2010) 3 EPs (Existence Failure 2004, Evilution Of A Manimal 2009, Ironclad 2014) and various split and compilation appearances (Japan’s Metal Asia 2007, Middle Eastern Mayhem 2013, Metal Hammer’s ‘Planet Metal’ 2010) under their heavyweight belt. 

Bands members:

  • Shashank Bhatnagar – Vocals
  • Biswarup ‘Biz’ Gupta – Guitars
  • Nishant Hagjer – Drums
  • Ezra Helios – Bass

Bhayanak Maut : This is Metal band from Mumbai, formed in November 2003. Bhayanak Maut created a signature metal sound for itself and they thrives on playing live. Their epic stage act is already the stuff of legends. And the fun bit is that they take it a notch higher every time they get on stage. While the audience stays on their toes, witnessing a new Bhayanak Maut at every show.

Band members:

  • R. Venkatraman (Baba) – guitars, keys, samples
  • Aditya Gopinathan (Amidtsya) – guitars
  • Rahul Hariharan – drums
  • Ishaan Krishna – bass

Leave a Reply